top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoseph Stewart

Embracing the Construct


As I may have mentioned before, as a coping mechanism growing up I developed the technique of breaking up reality into smaller, more manageable fragments; friendships, jobs, academic life, and so on. This is called "dissociation" by doctor-types. This strategy, although basically effective as a way to shield myself from the world, inevitably led to problems because I didn't know how to properly handle the "overlap" among the various "spheres" or "sub-realities" I had forged. When "worlds collided" (as George Costanza from "Seinfeld" said) things usually blew up on me.


I am (finally) at a stage where I am willing and (I think) able to embrace reality as a whole, not deliberately disregarding elements that are uncomfortable or too unfamiliar to deal with.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bored with Jax or with Life?

I am in need of a change (I think). I should probably come up with a "pros and cons" list as well as the possibility of accomplishing what I hope for right where I am now. There seem to be a number of

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page